Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
3

The 7 characteristics of a third place

From the interview for the WRLDCTY Conference
3

When I was invited to talk about third places at the WRLDCTY Conference in Spain, I first said that I couldn’t travel this autumn and that I wasn’t willing to speak by Zoom, after the awful experience I had with a Zoom panel for the New Jersey Futures conference. Talking about third places should be face to face, I said.

Share

The organizers of WRLDCTY were amazing: they found one of their colleagues with a home in Great Barrington who would interview me and arranged for a videographer. That’s all in their hands now. I made this short recording on my own computer, using Zoom, after walking home from the interview, to capture the points I’d just explained to Steven Pedigo when we were sitting up by Lake Mansfield.

Karen's Letter: The Way We Live Now is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Karen's Letter
The Way We Live Now from Karen's Letter
The way we live now: stories, tools, & ideas